Rent A Finn

©Video: Visit Finland
©Foto: Visit Finland ©Foto: Visit Finland ©Foto: Visit Finland ©Foto: Visit Finland

Rent A Finn

Client: Visit Finnland
Industry: Travel & Mobility
Services: Press Office | Consumer PR | Content Creation | Brand Cooperations | Press Trips | Bloggers & Media Relations

STORY & IDEA

Rent a Finn: Learn from the Best

According to the United Nations, Finland is once more the happiest country in the world in 2019, as it was the year before. Studies show that nature has a positive effect on our psyche and can reduce stress. At the same time, the world around us is getting busier and busier. Many travellers are looking for peace and quiet in a natural environment. These are all things that Finland offers in abundance. But how can we communicate this happy and natural lifestyle to the world? It’s about time everyone had the chance to learn from the best.

STRATEGY

Happiness Guides: More than Testimonials

Our core target group consists of people whose values fit with a trip to Finland – they are also known as “modern humanists”. How can we reach and address this group of people, who are skeptical of advertising, on a very limited budget? With real stories about Finns, who had made themselves available as “Happiness Guides”, we addressed German media through tailor-made media work and through selected, internationally known Finnish personalities (e.g. Samu Haber). As soon as the story was picked up by the media, we concentrated on generating further content.

The core messages were about the unique and nature-loving lifestyle of the Finns and the opportunity to experience everything Finland has to offer together with a Happiness Guide. We also used content describing the scientifically proven positive effects of nature and the special characteristics of the Finnish lifestyle, including an online life balance test developed by the coaching company Hinsta Performance. Content that appeals to those who are looking for a unique travel experience.

IMPLEMENTATION

A Successful Launch with the Potential of Becoming a New Travel Trend

“Rent a Finn” was launched globally in January 2019, following the launch of the campaign website rentafinn.com From all those who expressed their willingness, eight Happiness Guides were selected as testimonials for the communication. The idea was to start a movement; to get people to talk about the initiative and share it on social media.

After the recruitment phase in Finland, we rolled out the campaign comprehensively in March 2019 and localised it for the German market. Whether TV, radio, print or online: In addition to sending out press releases (tailor-made to trade, popular and travel media) and radio PR for the launch of the campaign, we sent journalists to meet personally with the Happiness Guides. On individual press trips to the Far North, the journalists had the opportunity to experience the Finns’ recipe for happiness with all their senses. In addition, we accompanied the sports and tourism student Madeline from Cologne, who was a guest of Happiness Guide Katja in Helsinki, more about this here.

The results were extraordinary and exceeded our expectations in terms of quality and quantity. Within a very short campaign period from March to June 2019 we generated coverage in Die Zeit, Süddeutsche Zeitung, Stern, Die Welt, Fokus, Business Punk and Hygge, Pro7 taff and Galileo as well as in various private radio stations and on Deutschlandfunk. “Rent a Finn” was thereby successfully launched in a very short period of time and will continue as a new travel trend in the future.

SPREAD THE WORD

“After the sauna, we go to the sea. The water has a temperature of 5 degrees Celsius. I think bathing is out of the question. I tell Juho that too. To get closer to happiness, one more beer would be enough for me. But I can already see by Juho’s grin that my categorical refusal will crumble.” – Bjørn Erik Sass, DIE ZEIT



Does that sound good to you? Perhaps you need something similar? As an owner-managed agency we enjoy getting to grips with a new topic. Please give us a call or send us an email. We look forward to getting to know you.

Contact us

Rent A Finn

©Video: Visit Finland
©Foto: Visit Finland ©Foto: Visit Finland ©Foto: Visit Finland ©Foto: Visit Finland

Rent A Finn

Kunde: Visit Finnland
Branche: Travel & Mobility
Services: Pressebüro | Consumer-PR | Content-Kreation | Brand Cooperations | Pressereisen | Blogger & Media Relations

STORY & IDEE

Rent a Finn: von den Besten lernen

Laut den Vereinten Nationen ist Finnland 2019, wie auch schon im Vorjahr, das weltweit glücklichste Land. Studien belegen, dass die Natur eine positive Auswirkung auf unsere Psyche hat und Stress verringern kann. Gleichzeitig wird die Welt um uns herum immer geschäftiger. Viele Reisende suchen nach Ruhe und Gelassenheit einer natürlichen Umgebung. Alles Dinge, die Finnland im Überfluss bietet. Aber wie kann man der Welt diesen glücklichen und naturnahen Lebensstil vermitteln? Es wurde Zeit, dass jeder die Chance erhält, von den Besten zu lernen.

STRATEGIE

Happiness Guides: mehr als Testimonials

Bei unserer Kern-Zielgruppe handelt es sich um Menschen, zu deren Werten eine Reise nach Finnland passt – diese sind auch als “moderne Humanisten” bekannt. Wie kann man diesen Personenkreis, der Werbung gegenüber kritisch eingestellt ist, mit einem sehr begrenzten Budget erreichen und ansprechen? Die echten Geschichten über Finnen, die sich als „Happiness Guides“ zur Verfügung gestellt hatten, haben wir im Rahmen von passgenauer Medienarbeit und über ausgewählte, international bekannte finnische Persönlichkeiten (z.B. Samu Haber) an deutsche Medien adressiert. Sobald die Story von den Medien aufgegriffen wurde, haben wir uns auf die Generierung weiteren Contents konzentriert.

Die Kernbotschaften drehten sich um die einzigartige und naturverbundene Lebensweise der Finnen und um die Möglichkeit, alles was Finnland bietet, gemeinsam mit einem Happiness Guide zu erleben. Wir haben zudem Inhalte genutzt, die die wissenschaftlich erwiesenen positiven Effekte der Natur und die besonderen Charakteristika des finnischen Lebensstils beschreiben, inkl. eines Online-Tests zur Life-Balance, entwickelt vom Coaching-Unternehmen Hinsta Performance. Inhalte, die diejenigen ansprechen, die ein einzigartiges Reiseerlebnis suchen.

UMSETZUNG

Erfolgreiche Einführung mit dem Potenzial zum neuen Reisetrend

„Rent a Finn“ wurde global im Januar 2019 gestartet, nach dem Launch der Kampagnen-Website rentafinn.com. Aus all denjenigen, die sich bereit erklärt hatten, wurden acht Happiness Guides als Testimonials für die Kommunikation ausgewählt. Die Idee war, eine Bewegung in Gang zu setzen; Menschen dazu zu bringen, über die Initiative zu sprechen und diese in sozialen Medien zu teilen.

Nach der Recruitmentphase in Finnland haben wir die Kampagne im März 2019 umfänglich hierzulande ausgerollt und passgenau für den deutschen Markt lokalisiert. Ob TV, Radio, Print oder Online: Neben dem Versand von Pressemitteilungen (maßgeschneidert an Fach-, Publikums- und Reisemedien) und Radio-PR zum Launch der Kampagne, schickten wir Journalisten persönlich zu den Happiness Guides. Auf individuellen Pressereisen in den hohen Norden hatten diese die Möglichkeit, sich selbst hautnah vom Glücksrezept der Finnen mit all ihren Sinnen zu überzeugen. Zusätzlich begleiteten wir die Sport- und Tourismusstudentin Madeline aus Köln, die zu Gast war bei Happiness Guide Katja in Helsinki, mehr dazu hier.

Die Ergebnisse waren außergewöhnlich und haben unsere Erwartungen qualitativ wie quantitativ deutlich übertroffen. Innerhalb eines sehr kurzen Kampagnenzeitraum von März bis Juni 2019 generierten wir Berichterstattung u.a. in Die Zeit, Süddeutsche Zeitung, Stern, Die Welt, Fokus, Business Punk und Hygge, bei Pro7 taff und Galileo sowie in diverse Privatradios und im Deutschlandfunk. „Rent a Finn“ wurde damit in einem sehr kurzen Zeitraum erfolgreich eingeführt und wird sich zukünftig als neuer Reisetrend fortsetzen.

SPREAD THE WORD

„Nach der Sauna gehen wir ins Meer. Das Wasser hat eine Temperatur von 5 Grad Celsius. Ich halte Baden in solchen Fällen für indiskutabel. Das sage ich Juho auch. Um dem Glück näher zu kommen, würde mir ein weiteres Bier ausreichen. Aber ich sehe an Juhos Grinsen schon, dass meine kategorische Ablehnung zerbröseln wird.“ – Bjørn Erik Sass, DIE ZEIT



Liest sich gut? Dann kommen Sie doch einfach mit uns ins Gespräch. Als inhabergeführte Agentur machen auch wir einen großen Bogen um Umwege: Rufen Sie uns direkt an oder schreiben Sie uns eine Mail. Wir freuen uns darauf, Sie kennenzulernen!

Zum Kontakt